Skip to content ↓

The EYFS Curriculum

The EYFS is guided by four main principles:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. We believe these overarching principles shape practice and aim at improving outcomes. They reflect that it is every child’s right to grow up safe, healthy, enjoying and achieving, making a positive contribution and with economic well-being.

We greatly value the important role that the Early Years Foundation Stage plays in laying secure foundations for future learning and development. Play underpins the delivery of the EYFS Curriculum. We use the document “Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage” and new 2021 EYFS Framework to inform planning in the Reception class.

Our curriculum for the EYFS reflects the EYFS Framework. Our pupils’ learning experiences enable them to develop competency and skill across all the learning areas.

The Early Learning Goals are organised into seven areas and provide the basis for planning throughout the EYFS, so layering secure foundations for future learning. We support the Characteristics of Effective Learning – Playing and Exploring, Active Learning, Creating and Thinking Critically – which enable the child to be an effective and motivated learner.

We aim to create an attractive, welcoming and stimulating learning environment that encourages children to explore, investigate and learn through first-hand experiences. Activities are planned for both inside and outside learning. Continuous provision in the EYFS includes water, tactile, sand and creative areas, ICT, math area, drawing, mark making, writing areas, reading, and role-play areas.

The EYFS curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning, three prime areas and four specific areas:

· Three Prime Areas

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development 


Four Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design


We believe that learning is holistic and none of the areas of learning can be delivered in isolation. All areas are delivered through a balance of adult-led and child-initiated activities. One experience may provide children with opportunities to develop a range of competencies, skills and concepts across several areas of learning. Each area of learning works towards relevant Early Learning Goals, which most children are expected to achieve by the end of the EYFS.

For more information regarding each of the seven areas of learning select from the tab on the right.